Growing up

I initially planned on having the title as “Incredibly long and boring title that if you think about, doesn’t really mean anything”. That seemed appropriate considering…

  1. I haven’t posted anything for 9 months. Sorry, I had a busy senior year.
  2. This post is going to be about a lot of different things… then again, almost all my posts are. 
  3. My creative juices are currently dammed. 

But I realized there’s a common theme. Whatever happened since I last posted, whatever I did, learnt or achieved- it all has something to do with becoming old enough to vote and get a driver’s license. 

So… hey. This is awkward. How’s it going? Again, sorry for not posting for a long time. A lot has happened these few months- I can say I really made the most of my last year of school. I grew a lot as a person, did a lot of life changing things that take me closer to *cue Dracula music* adulthood and learnt a lot academically and otherwise. Oh, and I turned 17.

I really really want to study in the US, or to be specific, MIT (the one in Massachusetts, not Manipal). MIT is the one place I want to study. Have you seen their admission droid videos? (I posted the video here last year) MIT puts the cool in school. I could list a thousand reasons to justify my statement… maybe I will in a future blog post.

I took the SAT and the Subject SAT in October and November with satisfactory scores. And no, I’m not sharing them here. I completed my college applications and applied to a grand total of… *drum roll* Hold your breathe… THREE colleges in the US. What’s that? You’re asking me if I’m crazy? Of course I am, by now you should know. The reason I applied to only 3 US colleges is because

  • I don’t think it’ll be feasible to study in most other colleges there. Considering tuition costs, travel expenses etc.
  • It costs to apply to each college so I didn’t simply apply to colleges I’m not interested in.
  • I’m ready to study here *sigh* if the three reach colleges I applied to (and statistically, they probably will) reject me.

I’m really taking my chances here. The numbers may be against me. I rest my hopes and dreams in the tiny 3% chance I have of getting in. And MIT looks for people. I’m not really good at statistics and I don’t need to, to have faith. I like to believe that there is something that transcends all numbers and there is something very humane about it. Anyways, I can’t do anything. If it’s meant to be, I will get in.

Right now, I’m preparing for my Class XII Board Exams and the entrance exams that follow. My life is definitely going to change drastically these next couple of months with these exams and college decisions coming up. They’ll be even bigger changes in the next few years. Maybe I might challenge neighbors to lightsaber duels with the Kyber crystals I forge in my lab. But maybe not. Regardless of what the future has in store, it cannot be bad. It only becomes bad if I let it. Boy, am I nervous about growing up! But maybe, no matter what path I thread, I’ll reach the place I have to.

P.S.: I won’t be writing here for another month at least. My Board Exams are from March 1st onward. I’ll get my MIT descision during that time. I’ll try to post more during the summer. I have to make up for everything I missed. :p

Fingers crossed. Here’s to the future.

Leave a Reply

